Electromagnetic Sensitivity Awareness Month


May to October 2009.

Several Governors in the United States and Mayors in Canada have proclaimed various months as “Electromagnetic Sensitivity (EMS) Awareness Month“.

The first was Governor Charlie Chris of Florida ( Florida Proclamation,) who declared May 2009 as “Electromagnetic Sensitivity Awareness Month” and then later withdrew his proclamation. This was followed, also for May 2009, by Governors Jodi Rell of Connecticut ( Connecticut Proclamation )and Bill Ritter Jr. of Colorado (Colorado Proclamation).

Then Canada followed suit initially in Colwood on Vancouver Island, where Mayor David Saunders declared August as EMS Awareness Month (Colwood Proclamation). Then two Mayors in Newfoundland declared August 2009 (Mayor Dennis O’Keefe of St. John’s,( St. John’s Proclamation) and October 2009 (Mayor Fred Budgell of Norris Arms, ( Norris Arm Proclamation) as EMS Awareness Months.

Health Canada also recongizes that some people are electrically sensitive as stated in their Safey Code 6 Guideline on page 11, which states: “Certain members of the general public may be more susceptible to harm from radio frequency and microwave exposure.”